Are you stopping yourself from finishing your PhD?

So true of how I have been feeling. I am holding on to my PhD submission but I do not know why really. I am definitely going to have a read of this book.

The Thesis Whisperer

The other day I had a lovely lunch on the balcony next to my office with two late stage ANU PhD students. We enjoyed the late winter sun and the view of Black mountain Tower while the ANU Quidditch team frolicked on the oval in front of us. It was one of those moments where academia feels just like paradise. Where else do you get to work in the middle of an enormous park, surrounded by smart people doing interesting things – and where people can run around with broomsticks between their legs without ridicule?

I remarked that the lovely ANU campus must surely be one of the perks of being a PhD student here and my lunch companions agreed. One admitted that it was pretty tempting to draw the process out as long as possible because, all too soon, adult responsibilities will come crashing back in.

Screen Shot 2014-08-24 at 11.44.37 amIf you…

View original post 1,097 more words

Leave a Reply

