Obsessed

I had to phone the bank today to make changes to my account. Now I am quite a chatty person and having worked in call centres I try to be friendly and patient with the staff. During my conversation it came to light that the lady advisor had just started college as a mature learner doing an access to HE course. Before I knew what was happening we ended up having a 121 about study skills techniques and I gave her the same type of help that I provide to my returning learners.

I think I must be a bit obsessed about my work and cannot help myself from helping others. Rather than seeing this as a bad thing I think I could use this more productively.  One of our support teams has approached me about getting involved in their blog for students. I have been putting off doing anything as I was not sure what I could say but maybe I ought to blog about common study problems and this may be a way of reaching students who might be reticent in seeking face to face support.

One thought on “Obsessed

Leave a Reply

